November Giveaways: What’s Your fave Christmas Recipe?

 It’s giveaway announcement time – one of the few times, I offer the same blog on both this site and the Kaz site. But don’t forget there are TWO sets of giveaways! One for each site!  

I warned you last time I blogged that it was beginning to look a lot like Christmas! And if I was a truly horrible person I’d also warn you how many shopping days there are left till Christmas. Yes, I suppose there is a possibility that, to do that, might be construed as  a Public Service Announcement – but honestly? I’m not that noble.

Why? I sooo don’t need that stress…

But – stress aside, it IS my fave time of the year. I love the music, the spirituality, the smells, the shops, the traditions – and yes the food. Each year we have traditional fare that we always bake or make.

We usually have a tree trimming party – and scattered in with everything else that may change from year to year – there are always my mini sausage rolls, prawns wrapped in bacon, onion tarts and arrancini.    After there’d be the yummy moist fruitcake that my mother and grandmother have also been making for probably a hundred years.  (Don’t try to do the math – I’m very bad at it. Just take my word and we’ll all be happy. Okay?) And of course yummy sweets and fruit and nuts.  

On Christmas Day, we usually have seafood followed by a traditional roast pork, turkey and chicken hot lunch with masses of roast vegies. Afterward we always have my mum’s mini Christmas puds with custard and cream, pavlova and  great, ice-cream and lolly Christmas pudd for those who don’t like traditional pudding.

My November giveaway is all about that time of getting ready for Christmas – creating edible gifts, and creating treats for your family and friends. There is a box of 30 Illustrated Christmas Recipe Cards  filled wth fun ideas – and a very cute 6-cavity, silicone cake-mould shaped like Chrstmas trees! I’d also use these for chocolate treats – or coconut ice or  fudge as well. What would you use them for?

It’s easy to win – actually super, super easy this month as we only have two weeks left of the month!!! All you have to do to go in the draw is to leave a comment on any blog this month. To make it easy and fun this particular blog – I’d love to know about any tradition/s you have  – and I’d especially love to know which Christmas food is your fave? What food or tradition is your absolute fave? 

Everyone is welcome to join in the fun. If you have young people in your life or house who’d like to offer their fave things, I’d love to hear from the as well.

This entry was posted in For Writers, fun stuff, musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to November Giveaways: What’s Your fave Christmas Recipe?

  1. Hi Kerri

    Christmas, especially with little children, has always been my most favourite time of year. It’s not quite the same now hubby and I have to wake them up rather than the other way around. This year will be the first in several where all of my darlings are home for the big day. I can’t wait. And I suspect I’ll go a little overboard this year.

    Your lolly Xmas pud reminds me of our Christmas icecream – 3 layers – chocolate, cherry ripe and almond, and glace cherries (red and green, of course). We also have adopted a Danish dice game where everyone around in the evening brings a fun (cheap $3-4) pressie and/or a cute one – all anonymous. They all go into the middle of the table, and we throw the 2 die. Doubles gets you a present. The game continues until all the presents are gone, and then the timer is turned on, at the organiser’s discretion how long for, and for each double you throw then, you may “steal” a present you fancy from someone else. The game continues until the buzzer sounds. Then we all get to open our booty. (Of course, one must look to see no one misses out.) It does bring out the possessive, ‘Ooh, but he’s got three. Steal one of his,’ type appeals. But it’s lots of fun, only limited by the buzzer. Merry Christmas to you and yours, Kerri.

    Best wishes, Chris 🙂

  2. Kerri/Kaz says:

    Chris, I think I’m stealing that game! It sounds like huge fun! And wow – you must be so excited about Christmas this year. I can see you grinning from here!

    I won’t have all mine – but almost all of them. but we’ll see them before Christmas so at least the immediate fam will get together then.

    Love the sound of your ice cream ‘loaf’. My daughter makes the ice cream pudd now and I wouldn’t dare change it – or risk getting lynched by the fam – but I think we’ll have it over the summer. What I love about summer is that we seem to find more time to all get together. Gotta love that!

    Thanks for dropping by – and I hope Christmas creates more wonderful memories to cherish.

  3. Kerri/Kaz says:

    Leonie couldn’t get this through, so she’s asked me to post:

    Hi Kerri, I love Christmas too! This year it’s going to be a lot less stress for me because we’ve begun a Secret Santa thing where we each just buy one gift for the person we’ve drawn out. Even the kids are doing it. Well, they’re mostly all grown up now, so it’s not like it was when they were little.

    There’s already lots of whispering and sneaking around. I’m loving it!

    Great post! I love anything to do with Christmas!

  4. Kerri/Kaz says:

    Thanks Leonie!

    Nice of you to find me and drop by – and thanks for taking the trouble to get onto the site. I really appeciate it. The idea of a Secret Santa for the family is a great one. I might drop some hints here! LOL.

    Thanks again – and I sincerely wish you a Christmas filled with love and laughter.

  5. Emma Field says:

    Hi Kerri
    My favourite thing is driving around looking at all the houses decorated for Christmas. Dad and Mum decorate our house but some of them are just awesome.

    This year is going to be really cool because we just got a new pool so it’s going to be our first family Christmas with a pool. I can’t wait!

  6. Kerri/Kaz says:

    You’re going to have such a good time Emma! I love looking at lights too – so it’s not just a kids’ thing! We put up lots of lights, but the trouble is, I’m usually too busy to see them much!!!

    Have a wonderful Christmas Emma. And thank you for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

