Writer’s Write, Right? Don’t Break the Chain.

I don’t know about you, but if you’re a writer, do you find it hard to get back into the rhythm if you’ve had a break or holiday? I do.

And I get confused by this. I mean, I’ve learned that to push myself without a break is always to my detriment. I have to pause and refill the well, give myself  chance to catch up, revive and then push on.  I equate it to the Stop, Revive, Survive campaign and it’s served me well.

But then coming back after the break, I’m usually full of ideas, but somehow, I’m out of sync and disorganised, thus, I’m usually  slow and sluggish at first. And it irritates me. So, I had to find another way – and to kickstart me this time, I’ve adopted Jerry Seinfeld’s Don’t Break the Chain . It’s free at the Writer’s Store, which you’ll see when you click on the link.

So, what is it? Basically it’s a reward chart with 365 boxes, one for each day of the year, and you fill in each box/day that you write. You can colour, or do as many are doing (including me), and, stick on a nice shiny star!    

It’s a simple, yet effective, motivational tool and the idea is to keep the chain going for as long as you can without mising a day. And I’m excited about filling up my chart with nice bright shiny stars!

The good news is you could use it for anything. Days on a diet. (Need this one!) Days without smoking.  Days you enforced positive self affirmation.

For my younger followers: Days you read a book – or 2 or 3…

And for writers: Days you developed your career; got words on paper; promoted yourself/book; blogged etc. 

Wow – just realised I’m going to need about 10 charts!!!   

How many will you need?

This entry was posted in musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

